Free delivery when you spend £20 | Join our email list Get 10% off your first purchase!

Source Lifestyle, explorers of the eclectic

What is your love language

Valentine’s Day special: what is your love language?

Did you know that there are 5 different love languages? Which one is yours?

Valentine’s Day is definitely the day to show your appreciation for a loved one. Have you been disappointed by witnessing your partner’s slightly disappointed smile, when they opened the gift you thought they would like… If that has ever happened to you – we have the answer to why.

You speak a different love language.

The five love languages are American psychologist Chapman’s developed models of different types of love. According to him, we adapt one main love language and we tend to stick with it for the rest of our lives – we only develop different dialects over time. This is most likely formed in our childhood when we’re highly affected by the love of our parents. So, in a way, we are unable to consciously choose it. The good news is that there’s no wrong type of love language – it’s all about how we approach it and if we can understand it. The five love languages are:

  • Words of affirmation
  • Acts of service
  • Receiving gifts
  • Quality time
  • Physical touch

Besides figuring out what your love language is – it is even more important to find out what love language your loved one speaks.

Let’s dive a little deeper into each of the love languages…

Words of affirmation

Sometimes we all need to hear ‘you did a great job!’, or ‘you’re an amazing mum’, or ‘the dinner was delicious, thank you!’, or words of appreciation or love. Some of us need to hear it much more often than others, this isn’t a sign of a lack of self-confidence. For most of us, these are expressions of love. If a simple ‘I love you’ puts a massive smile on your loved one’s face for the rest of the day – why hold back?

Acts of service

If your other half asks you to take the rubbish out and you simply forget… If their love language is acts of service – they might start feeling the lack of love. It might seem far-fetched or over-dramatic but quite often it’s the little things. It might not be the most romantic way to express your love… But doing the dishes without asking is, sometimes, the best ‘I love you’.

Receiving gifts

This is the love language we’re fluent in. For some, giving material gifts might seem unnecessary or even superficial. The gift doesn’t have to be big – even the smallest handmade gift would do the job. We can let you into a secret… It’s the thought that counts.

Check out our gift section where you can find lots of unique gifts.

Quality time

Spending quality time with your loved one might seem straightforward but nowadays – it is one of the hardest things to do. It could simply mean leaving your phone at home when you go for a walk in the park. To make a more relevant example – when you’re Zoom’ing with a loved one – don’t reply to work emails at the same time!

Physical touch

Now, this one shouldn’t come as a surprise – but if you love someone, they expect to be kissed, hugged, and held. We all know that, unfortunately, at the moment, a lot of couples aren’t able to be together. But once this is all over -like all of us there are all sorts of loved ones we can’t wait to give a big warm hug!

Shopping cart


No products in the cart.